Senior officers transferred amidst bureaucratic reshuffle by Centre

February 17, 2020

The Central Government has effected a major bureaucratic reshuffle, resulting appointments and transfers of senior IAS officers at the Secretary level.

Pawan Kumar Agarwal (1985-Batch), Chief Executive Officer, Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI), has been appointed Secretary, Department of consumer affairs. Agarwal is a West Bengal cadre officer.

Saraswati Prasad, a 1985-Batch officer, Special Secretary and Financial Adviser, Ministry of Steel, has been appointed as the Secretary, National Commission for Scheduled Tribes. He belongs to Assam-Meghalaya cadre.

Usha Sharma, 1985-Batch of Rajasthan cadre has been transferred as the Secretary, Department of Youth Affairs. At present, Sharma is the Director-General of the Archeological Survey of India.

Debasish Panda, a 1987-Batch IAS officer has been appointed as the Finance Secretary of Government of India. The Uttar Pradesh cadre officer is currently serving as the Special Secretary, Department of Financial Services.

According to a Personnel Ministry order, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved his appointment. Panda will take over the post from Rajiv Kumar (1981-Batch), who will superannuate in February end.

1987-Batch Gujarat cadre officer has been appointed as Secretary, Department of Defence production. He is at present the Director-General, Employees' State Insurance Corporation.

Rajeev Ranjan, 1989-Batch officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre has been transferred as Secretary, Department of Fisheries from the post of Special Secretary, GST Council Secretariat. Ranjan will take over the post from Rajni Sekhri Sibal, who is scheduled to retire on February 29, 2020.

The tenure of Parameswaran Iyer (1981-Batch), Secretary, Department of Drinking Water and Sanitation, has been extended by one more year, up to April 30, 2021.